1. Professor We Qiao was elevated to Fellow of the IEEE (November 26, 2019)
  2. PESL members Chao Jia and Prof. Wei Qiao are the second-place winner of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) Motor Vehicles Challenge 2019
  3. Josue Campos do Prado and Mohamed Kareem Al-Ashery received the Second Prize and Third Prize of the Best Paper Awards, respectively, at the 50th North American Power Symposium (NAPS 2018). 
  4. Dr. Liyan Qu was promoted to Associate Professor and granted tenure. (April 23, 2018)
  5. PESL alumnus, Dr. Yue Zhao, earned a five-year, $500,000 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award to develop the Next-Generation SiC Motor Drives. (March 28, 2018)
  6. Professional staff on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee visited the Power and Energy Systems Lab on August 18, 2017. 
  7. Professor Qiao receives a $337,897 NSF grant to develop new methods for online nonintrusive identification and monitoring of internal weak points of electro-energy devices. (June 30, 2017)
  8. Professor Qu receives the 2017 UNL College of Engineering Edgerton Innovation Award. (April 4, 2017)
  9. Professor Qiao receives the 2017 UNL College of Engineering Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award. (April 4, 2017)
  10. Dr. Wei Qiao was promoted to Full Professor. (March 17, 2017)
  11. PESL receives a $500K ARPA-E award to develop a new voltage and frequency power converter. (August 26, 2016)
  12. Professor Liyan Qu receives the 2016 UNL College of Engineering Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award.
  13. Professor Liyan Qu earned a five-year, $500,000 NSF CAREER Award to develop a next-generation power grid transformer. (February 26, 2016)
  14. PESL receives a $91K grant from CSIC (Chongqing) Haizhuang Windpower Equipment Co., Ltd. (December 22, 2014)
  15. PESL receives a $150K grant from NCESR to develop optimal dynamic operation models for electricity markets. (December 19, 2014)
  16. PESL receives a $1.5 million award from the U.S. Department of Energy to develop innovative online health monitoring technologies for wind turbines. (September 5, 2014)
  17. Professor Qiao receives a $200K NSF grant to develop smart batteries. (September 3, 2014)
  18. Yue Zhao received the 2014 UNL Oustanding Graduate Research Assistant Award
  19. Qiao's group recognized 3 IEEE awards
  20. Taesic Kim wins the first prize of the 2013 IEEE Industry Applications Society Graduate Student Thesis Contest
  21. Professor Qiao receives a $360K NSF grant to develop advanced fault diagnostic and prognostic technologies (May 2013)
  22. Qiao’s research was featured in Energy for Nebraska
  23. Qiao receives a $100K grant from Nebraska Research Initiative to advance integration of renewable energy resources in electricity market (May 2012)
  24. Dingguo Lu earns the fifth place prize in the 2012 Smart Planet Challenge, sponsored by IBM and IEEE
  25. Yue Zhao was a finalist in the Student Impact Awards for Outstanding Officer
  26. Qiao and his students, Dingguo Lu and Xiang Gong, earn 2012 best paper award on renewable and sustainable energy from IEEE Industry Applications Society
  27. Qiao and his student, Yue Zhao, earn Best Paper Prize at the 2012 IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference and Expo (ITEC 2012)
  28. Qiao receives the 2012 UNL College of Engineering Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award
  29. Dingguo Lu won the second-place prize in 2011 Vestas Global Winnovation Case Competition
  30. Dingguo Lu earns a DEED Student Research Grant from American Public Power Association in 2011
  31. Qiao receives the 2011 UNL Harold and Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award
  32. Qiao receives the 2011 UNL College of Engineering Edgerton Innovation Award
  33. Christopher Lohmeier receives Halla-National Semiconductor Fellowship (2011)
  34. Qiao receives $150K funding from Deere & Company to develop advanced rotor position/speed sensorless control for permanent-magnet synchronous machines and drives
  35. Qiao’s research on renewable energy and smart grid was featured in NSF Science 360
  36. Qiao receives the 2010 IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS) Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Award
  37. Qiao earns a $1.12 million award from the Federal Highway Administration to develop a renewable energy-based smart roadway microgrid (April 2010).
  38. Video: Smart Grid Research Benefits Power Transmission
  39. Qiao earns a five-year, $400K NSF CAREER award to study next-generation power grids
  40. Qiao receives $140K grant from NCESR to develop condition monitoring technology for drivetrain gearbox
  41. Improving wind turbine reliability and maintenance (Qiao wins $380K DOE award, November 2009)
  42. Qiao receives IEEE IAS Industrial Automation and Control Committee 2007 Second Prize Paper Award
  43. Qiao receives a $215K NSF grant to develop advanced control for wind energy conversion systems (July 2009)